Driving While Intoxicated, DWI, DUI

New Mexico DUI Laws

First Offense

  • Up to 90 days in jail and a year of probation
  • A fine of up to $500
  • Have an interlock device installed on your car for one year
  • At least 24 hours of community service
  • DWI school
  • Victim Impact Panel
  • At least 48 hours in jail (for aggravated DWI)
  • At least 48 hours in jail for any violation of probation or orders of the court

Second Offense

  • Up to one year in jail; up to 5 years of probation
  • Fine of up to $1,000
  • Interlock device for 2 years
  • 48 hours of community service
  • Alcohol and drug abuse screening and court-approved treatment
  • 28-day inpatient treatment or
  • 90 day outpatient treatment or
  • Drug court program or
  • Other court-approved substance abuse treatment

Third Offense

  • Up to one year in jail (Mandatory 30 days)
  • Up to 5 years of probation
  • Interlock device for three years
  • $750 fine
  • 96 hours of community service
  • Mandatory treatment

Source: For more information on New Mexico DWI charges, visit www.nmdwilaw.info, the comprehensive DUI site provided by the Law Offices of Glenn Smith Valdez.
Albuquerque Drunk Driving Charges

Glenn Smith Valdez is a leading New Mexico drunk driving defense attorney, handling drunk driving charges in Albuquerque and the surrounding area, including Valencia County, Cibola County, Socoro County and Sandoval County.

As an experienced and aggressive Albuquerque DWI attorney, Glenn Smith Valdez has a website dedicated to drunk driving defense in New Mexico: Visit www.nmdwilaw.info for comprehensive information on New Mexico’s DWI laws.

Being charged with drunk driving is a serious offense. Glenn Smith Valdez provides comprehensive defense, both through criminal court and the administrative hearing process to contest suspension of your driving privileges.

If you have been charged with refusing to submit to a blood or breath test, or if you tested .08 or higher (.02 if you are under 21) your driver’s license will be revoked 20 days after your arrest unless you or your attorney makes a written request for a hearing to contest the suspension within 10 days of your arrest.

If you are facing charges for drunk driving, call New Mexico DWI Lawyer Glenn Smith Valdez today for a free and confidential appointment to discuss your rights.

Call (505) 877-8800
A Good Lawyer can Help – A Great Lawyer can Win